The Bleachers


Schonny Winston erupted for a career-high 33 points as De La Salle University (DLSU) outlasted the University of Santo Tomas (UST), 112-83, in the UAAP Season 84 men’s basketball tournament on Tuesday, April 19 at the Mall of Asia Arena.

/ 20 April 2022

Coming off a loss to archrival Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU) seven days ago, the Green Archers put on an offensive showcase as their 112 points were the most scored by a UAAP team since La Salle’s 115-109 win over National University back on September 16, 2017.

Winston led La Salle on a very efficient 14-of-19 clip from the field in just three-quarters of action to go with four rebounds and two steals as the Green Archers remained at third place with their 6-3 card.

The Green Archers fired on all cylinders quickly as they built a 21-point cushion, 32-11, with under two minutes to play in the opening period.

UST responded after trimming down the lead to just 10, 46-36, at one point in the second quarter, but DLSU shifted on high gear again to stretch the lead to 25 at the end of the third frame, 86-61, and never looked back. 

Justine Baltazar added 17 points, seven boards, seven assists, two steals, and one block, while Evan Nelle went on a perfect 4-of-4 clip from beyond the arc to tally 16 points, six dimes, two rebounds, and two steals.

Michael Phillips finished with 15 points, nine boards, and two steals, while Kurt Lojera chipped in 10 points and six rebounds in a game where the Green Archers shot 58.3-percent from the field and 9-of-23 from deep for a solid 39-percent clip.

On the other side of the court, Paul Manalang paced UST with 14 points, three rebounds, and three assists while Bryan Santos contributed 13 points and seven rebounds in his first game back from a one-game suspension.

The Growling Tigers fell to 3-6 in the standings.

The Scores:

LA SALLE 112 Winston 33, Baltazar 17, Nelle 16, M. Phillips 15, Lojera 10, Nonoy 5, Cuajao 5, Galman 5, Escandor 2, B. Phillips 2, Cu 2, Lim 0, Nwankwo 0, Turco 0.

UST 83 Manalang 14, Santos 13, Concepcion 12, Cabanero 11, Ando 10, Fontanilla 8, Garing 6, Gomez de Liano 4, Samudio 3, Manaytay 2, Gesalem 0, Mantua 0, Yongco 0, Pangilinan 0, Herrera 0.