The Bleachers


Ateneo recorded a 3-0 standing in the UAAP Season 84 men's basketball tournament with a season-high margin, 78-47, at the expense of Adamson Falcons on Thursday at Mall of Asia Arena.

/ 1 April 2022

The three-time defending champion has remained unbeaten since October 2018 with 29 consecutive wins. As their match against Adamson gave every Blue Eagle player the chance to score.

It was a complete annihilation as Ange Kouame had 13 points and 10 rebounds, while Tyler Tio and Chris Koon each fired nine points, and the Blue Eagles statistics showed a 47.5% shot from the field, limiting Adamson to a 29.2% clip, and enjoying a 47-21 edge in terms of bench scoring.

Forthsky Padrigao and Gab Gomez also helped with their eight-point outings, as Raffy Verano scored eight points and four rebounds for the Blue Eagles. 

Ateneo easily found their way into controlling the game with a 23-point lead, 36-13, in the second quarter, however, Adamson showed that they will not go down without a fight and rallied back to cut the deficit down to just six, 36-28, early in the third period.

Still, it was not enough for the Falcons as the Blue Eagles soared higher with Dave Ildefonso and Kouame’s 18-0 run to take the 54-28 lead in the frame, and with Geo Chiu’s three-point play in the final 1:35 helped the team clinched the victory with the spread 35, 78-43.

Meanwhile, Adamson who is now in their second loss, recorded no player in double figures with Lenda Douanga and Keith Zaldivar only pouring six points apiece. 

“Those games are behind us already. We want to put games behind us and push to the La Salle game as 0-0. It’s the only game that matters now,” said Baldwin.

The Falcons will face the University of Santo Tomas on Saturday, and on the same day, Ateneo and archrival De La Salle University will square off. 

The scores:

Ateneo 78 Kouame 13, Tio 9, Koon 9, Padrigao 8, Verano 8, Gomez 8, Ildefonso 6, Chiu 3, Mendoza 3, Mamuyac 3, Belangel 2, Lazaro 2, Andrade 2, Berjay 2.

Adamson 47 Zaldivar 6, Douanga 6, Manzano 5, Yerro 5, Jaymalin 5, Hanapi 5, Lastimosa 4, Magbuhos 3, Peromingan 2, Sabandal 2, Erolon 2, Colonia 1, Calisay 1, Barasi 0, Fuentebella 0, Maata 0.

Quarterscores: 17-8; 36-24; 54-34; 78-47.