Creamline stars Alyssa Valdez and Jia Morado will be making their comeback as members of the 20-woman pool for the national volleyball team that will compete in the 31st Southeast Asian Games in Hanoi, Vietnam.

/ 31 January 2022

Valdez and Morado were excluded from the national team last year after not being able to attend a tryout, but it became controversial as Brazilian coach Jorge Souza de Brito said it was the “best decision”.

However, there is no guarantee that Valdez and Morado would be seen on an international volleyball court because only 14 out of 20 will be chosen to represent the country in the SEA Games, which will be held from May 12 to 25.

“The federation approved the recommendation of the national coaching staff for the national pool where we will eventually name the final composition of the teams for the Hanoi SEA Games,” PNVF President Ramon “Tats” Suzara said.

The pool’s final roster is due to be submitted to the Hanoi SEA Games organizers on March 12, whereas the PNVF is saddened since there are other collegiate players who cannot participate.

“It’s unfortunate that our promising young players from the collegiate leagues couldn’t join the pool, and the SEA Games for that matter, because their respective leagues are resuming their competitions before the Hanoi Games,” he explained.

Since the UAAP and NCAA were planning to start the season in the first quarter of 2022, the PNVF’s aims for the national team were at odds, especially since both UAAP and NCAA competition would likely begin before the SEA games. 

Here’s the full list of names for each national team pool:

Volleyball (Women—20 athletes and 4 coaching staff)


  1.   Iris Janelle Tolenada
  2.   Jasmine Nabor
  3.   Maria Deanna Izabella Wong
  4.   Julia Melissa Morado
  5.   Dawn Nicole Macandilli
  6.   Kat Arado
  7.   Alyja Daphne Santiago
  8.   Dell Palomata
  9.   Marivic Velaine Meneses
  10.   Abigail Maraño
  11.   Frances Xinia Molina
  12.   Tyler-Marie Kalei Mau
  13.   Alyssa Valdez
  14.   Katrina Mae Tolentino
  15.   Jessica Margarett Galanza
  16.   Casiey Monique Dongallo
  17.   Kim Kiana Dy
  18.   Mylene Paat
  19.   Jelaica Faye Gajero
  20.   Aleona Denise Manabat

Head coach (under FIVB): Jorge Edson Souza De Brito (BRA)

Head coach: Arthur Odjie Mamon

Assistant coach: Grace Rosario Antigua

Assistant coach: George Pascua

Trainer: Raffy Mosuela