THE Senate has presented Medal of Excellence to the winners of the recently concluded Tokyo Olympics.

/ 7 September 2021

In a ceremony held at the Senate Session Hall during Monday’s plenary proceedings, the four Filipino athletes who made their respective historic feats during the 32nd Olympiad were conferred with the highest honor from the upper chamber.

Among those conferred with the Senate Medal of Excellence were Olympic gold medalist Hidilyn Diaz (weightlifting – women’s 55-kg), silver medalists Nesthy Petecio (boxing – women’s featherweight) and Carlo Paalam (boxing – men’s flyweight); and bronze medal winner Eumir Marcial (boxing – men’s middleweight).

The Senate likewise recognized the role played by Philippine Olympic Committee President and Cavite 8th district Abraham “Bambol” N. Tolentino, under whose stewardship the country won its first-ever Olympic gold medal.

The Senate recently unanimously approved and adopted Philippine Senate Resolution No. 781 which aims to establish the Philippine Senate Medal of Excellence introduced by Senators Francis Tolentino, Juan Miguel Zubiri, and Juan Edgardo Angara.

Recipients of the five international awards, namely the Nobel Prize, Pulitzer Prize, the A.M. Turing Award, the Ramon Magsaysay Award, or an Olympic medal are automatically qualified to receive the Senate Medal of Excellence.

Tolentino stressed that the said international recognitions set the highest standards of excellence, nationalism, and virtue that their fellow countrymen can aspire for.

The award given by the upper chamber is comparable to the Congressional Gold Medal of the United States Congress which is their highest expression of national appreciation for distinguished achievements and contributions by individuals or institutions.