With Jaja Santiago’s import duties for Ageo Medics at hand, participation of Chery Tiggo in the 2021 AVC Asian Women’s Club Volleyball Championship slated on October 1-7 in Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand remains ambiguous.

/ 20 August 2021

After emerging victorious in the recent Premier Volleyball League (PVL) first-ever professional season, Chery Tiggo is entitled to compete in the continental club tournament alongside the Philippine women’s volleyball team. 

However, Chery Tiggo team manager Ronwald Dimaculangan averred that the club team is unsure of its participation but will give its decision within the week. 

“We’ll know within the week. Pinagaaralan pa,” Dimaculangan said. 

National Team Commissions head Tonyboy Liao said that if PVL reigning champion, Chery Tiggo, decides not to compete, the spot will be given to runner-up Creamline, if not, the Petro Gazz.

“If they won’t be available, then Creamline will be invited, then Petro Gazz, and then the next ranked team,” Liao said. 

“If Chery Tiggo would like to participate, they should inform PNVFI right away before the end of August because the deadline of submission of entries to Thailand Volleyball is on September 10,” he added.

Santiago, who averaged 25.3 points during the finals and bagged both the Finals and Conference Most Valuable Player (MVP) awards along with the Best Middle Blocker citation, will likely miss the 2021 AVC due to her upcoming stint for Ageo Medics in Japan. 

Chery Tiggo will serve as the second Filipino squad in the Asian Club if they decide on competing while the Philippine women’s volleyball team will be carrying its sponsor name, Rebisco. 

The national pool is currently training in Batangas bubble with coaches Odjie Mamon and Jorge Edson Souza de Brito.

Players training inside the bubble are Aby Maraño, Majoy Baron, Iris Tonelada, Eya Laure, Faith Nisperos, Alyssa Solomon, Jennifer Nierva, Ivy Lacsina, Mhicaela Belen, Kamille Cal, Imee Hernandez, and Bernadett Pepito alongside F2 Logistics standouts Dawn Macandili, Ara Galang, Kianna Dy, Kim Fajardo, and Tin Tiamzon, who were invited to train with the team.

Chery Tiggo’s Santiago, Mylene Paat, Petro Gazz’s Ria Meneses, and Sta. Lucia’s Dell Palomata are also part of the pool but missed the start of the training camp due to the recently concluded PVL.

Souza de Brito will come up with the final 14 players set to compete in the continental tournament wherein they will head against Thailand and Kazakhstan with two squads each and Iran with one team.