MANILA -- The College of Saint Benilde has joined an elite group by achieving a three-peat in NCAA women's volleyball.

27 May 2024

MANILA — The College of Saint Benilde has joined an elite group by achieving a three-peat in NCAA women’s volleyball.

This is after the Lady Blazers triumphed over Letran with a commanding 25-18, 25-17, 25-18 victory on Sunday (26 May 2024) at the Filoil EcoOil Centre, securing their fourth overall championship and extending their winning streak to 40 matches.

Benilde now stands alongside Letran (1977-80), San Sebastian (1982-84, 1986-88, 1990-96, 1999-2002, 2005-11), University of Perpetual Help System Dalta (2012-14), and Arellano University (2017-19) in achieving three consecutive titles.

Their previous championship win came in 2016 when they defeated the Grethcel Soltones-led Lady Stags in an epic series.

Season MVP Clo Mondoñedo, who also earned the Best Setter award, ended her NCAA career as a champion along with Michelle Gamit, Gayle Pascual and Jade Gentapa.

In the decisive match, Mondoñedo contributed 16 excellent sets and four points. Pascual, who scored a match-high 14 points and made seven digs, earned her second straight Finals MVP award, capping her college career with a championship. Gamit and Gentapa each scored eight points.

“Masaya siya siyempre since first year yun na talaga ang plan ni coach Jerry (Yee) na kunin namin ang championship hanggang maka-graduate kami and okay siya na natupad naman namin ngayon,” Pascual told broadcaster GTV.

Benilde seemed poised to start a dynasty in 2020 after winning seven consecutive matches, but the season was canceled due to COVID-19.

When the league resumed in 2022, the Lady Blazers proved unstoppable. Wielyn Estoque and Zam Nolasco, expected to lead Benilde next season, shone in the final match. Estoque delivered 11 kills, while Nolasco added two blocks, finishing with seven points.

“Natutuwa ako kasi yung mga teammates ko nag-improve talaga sila then naging mas madali para sa amin na as a team kami naglalaro ngayon compared to last season,” Pascual said. “Nandito lang ako palagi para sa kanila.”

For the Lady Knights, Judiel Nitura led with 12 points, while Freshman of the Year Gia Maquilang scored nine points, including three service aces and eight receptions. This was Letran’s best finish since their runner-up trophies in the 2011 and 2012 seasons under coach Oliver Almadro.

In men’s volleyball, Perpetual secured its 14th championship by defeating Emilio Aguinaldo College 25-14, 25-22, 29-27, making it the most successful program in NCAA history.

Finals MVP Jeff Marapoc led the Altas with 18 points, including three service aces and 14 receptions. Louie Ramirez added 14 points, and Kobe Tabuga contributed 13 points.

Ramirez, who was named Season MVP and 2nd Best Outside Spiker, expressed his determination to close out the series in Game 2.

“Finally we finished the series in Game 2, It was a team effort para makuha namin ito, I thank all my teammates for this,” Ramirez said.

For EAC, Jan Ruther Abor scored a team-high 22 points, and Ervin Osabel added 14 kills.