/ 13 December 2022

DELEGATES of the De La Salle University to the National Model United Nations in Kobe, Japan won top awards in the recently concluded conference.

DLSU said it was the only university with country representations winning Outstanding Delegation Awards.

The team was composed of 16 delegates led by Britney Mae Paderes and Roschaela Gabrielle Oabel.

The other delegates were Gio Jerson Almonte, Jerik Adrian Bayon, Marc David Cuerpo, Samantha Ysabel de Leon, Marianne Era, Beatrice Cristina Gaite, Calista Dominique Garcia, Ysabel Garcia, Diane Therese Huldong, Alecxis Bianca Libang, Miko Jade Oberes, Jazzmin Krishna Padua, Kenhiro Tsumura, and Jan Christian Uy.

The delegation represented Australia, Eswatini and Ireland.

Theodore Christopher Alberto and Benedict Rafael accompanied the students as trainers while Political Science faculty member Allen Surla served as the group’s adviser.

“The 16-member DLSU Team was divided into three sub-delegations that represented Australia, Eswatini and Ireland, and were distributed in four UN Committees,” DLSU said.

“It is very rare in NMUN conferences for all three country-representations of one university to win Outstanding Delegation Awards, the highest awards in the conference,” it added.

Calista and Samantha de Leon, who represented Ireland in the UN General Assembly Committee, were chosen as Outstanding Delegates in the GA Committee.

Meanwhile, Roschaela Oabel and Britney Paderes, along with the delegates of Australia, Miko Jade Oberes and Jerik Adrian Bayon, won Outstanding Position Paper Awards for the GA Committee.
They represent Eswatini in the same Committee.

NMUN is the world’s largest simulation of Model United Nations. University students from all over the world step into the shoes of diplomats and work to propose resolutions addressing disarmament, regional conflicts, peacekeeping, human rights, women and children, economic and social development, and the environment.

This year, 400 delegates and faculty from 44 universities and colleges from 12 countries participated.