/ 13 December 2023

A TOTAL of seven titles published by the Ateneo de Manila University Press bagged awards in the 41st National Book Awards.

The awards were announced by the National Book Development Board and the Manila Critics Circle on December 9.

These are:

• Yñiga by Glenn Diaz: Best Novel in English award.

• Song of the Mango and Other New Myths by Vida Cruz-Borja: National Artist Cirilo F Bautista Prize for Best Book of Short Fiction in English.

• Kalandrakas Part 1, 1890-1945: Stories and Storytellers of/on Regions in Mindanao, 1890-1990 and Kalandrakas Part 2, 1946-1990: Stories and Storytellers of/on Regions in Mindanao, 1890-1990” edited by Ricardo De Ungria: Best Anthology in English.

• Plus/+ at Iba Plus, Maramihan: New Philippine Nonfiction on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identities, edited by Rolando B. Tolentino and Chuckberry J. Pascual: Best Anthology in Filipino.

• Isang Dalumat ng Panahon ni Christian Jil R. Benitez: Best Book of Literary Criticism/Cultural Studies.

• Transfiguring Mindanao: A Mindanao Reader, edited by Jose Jowel Canuday and Joselito Sescon; book design by Karl Castro: Elfren S. Cruz Prize For Best Book in the Social Sciences and Best Book Design

“These books have been recognized by fellow critics, readers, and scholars, for their contributions to the care and growth of Philippine literature, scholarship, and culture. Not only have they become names and titles to look out for, they pave the way for more of those like them, testaments to the power of words and stories,” Ateneo said.

“The Ateneo University Press remains committed and determined to publish books that carry important ideas and knowledge on the lives of Filipinos, within and beyond the country. We are deeply heartened by the recognition received by our authors and titles at the National Book Awards. As such, our mission continues. We look forward to further supporting Philippine literature and scholarship and helping raise the quality of life of every Filipino,” it added.

The National Book Awards, managed by the National Book Development Board and the Manila Critics’ Circle, is an annual prize that recognizes “the most prestigious book titles written, designed, and published in the Philippines.”

For this year, 235 books received nominations across seven languages (Filipino, English, Bikol, Binisaya, Hiligaynon, Tausug, and Waray) and 34 diverse categories. Out of 13 nominations, seven AUP titles were selected for the awards.