Kenshiro Daniels delivered the game-winning goal for Kaya Futbol Club-Iloilo to rule the Copa Paulino Alcantara against Azkals Development Team, Friday night at the PFF National Training Center in Carmona, Cavite.

/ 22 November 2021

It was in the 47th minute that Kaya forward Daniels broke through the winning strike over ADT, 1-0, to win their second trophy after winning the inaugural tournament back in 2018.

Jovin Bedic played aggressively in the opening half against ADT, minus team captain Jarvey Gayoso, who hurt his hamstring in their semis win over Stallion-Laguna, but failed to snag in his ninth and 41st-minute attempts due to Azkals keeper Mar Diano.

Audie Menzi also had a chance to score on a header but sailed wide.

Daniels, a former Azkals mainstay, delivered the historic strike from a tough position from a pass by Simone Rota. 

ADT had also multiple opportunities to snag a goal but was thwarted by the defense of the LBC-backed club

Horikoshi nearly chipped in Kaya-Iloilo’s second goal from a pass by Shirmar Felongco but his header was collected by the keeper.

Gayoso, who only cheered his teammates from the bench due to the injury, was awarded the Golden Boot award for most goals in the tourney with six.

Meanwhile, Kaya team captain Jovin Bedic was later hailed as the Golden Ball winner, while keeper Michael Casas was given the Golden Glove.