/ 8 September 2021

THE PROVINCIAL government of Northern Samar has provided scholarships to five medical students to help them finish their studies and become doctors.

Governor Edwin Ongchuan said the five students were chosen through a screening and evaluation process by the province’s medical scholarship board.

“This scholarship program of the provincial government aims to help the province produce more doctors who will serve the community through their assignment in government hospitals in Northern Samar,” Ongchuan said.

The recipient of the medical scholarships are Julie Ann Mente from Capul town, a first year student of Bicol University in Legaspi City; Juneica Midel Eulin from Lavezares town, a fourth-year student of Remedios T. Romualdez Medical Foundation in Tacloban City; Matt Denvher Leonor from Catubig town, a first-year student of RTRMF; Jamaica Salurio from Catarman town, second-year student at RTRMF; and Kate Lacuata from Laoang town, first-year student of Our Lady of Fatima University in Valenzuela.

Under the scholarship grant, the students will receive P100,000 for tuition and other school fees per semester, plus P35,000 stipend and P40,000 book and uniform allowance.

The provincial government will also shoulder the review fees for the medical licensure exam amounting to P60,000 and will give an additional P70,000 allowance.

In return, the students will be required to render service in the provincial and district hospitals depending on the number of years for which they have availed of the medical scholarship.

The medical scholarship program of Northern Samar started last year with eight medical students as pioneer beneficiaries.