/ 14 October 2021

TEACHER-BROADCASTERS and online tutors of the Department of Education received international and national recognition for their work and support for the implementation of distance learning initiatives.

“Congratulations to our teacher-broadcasters and online tutors who have been with us since the beginning for our implementation of the Basic Education-Learning Continuity Plan. We are grateful for your sharing of your time and effort to ensure education will still be delivered to our dear learners,” Education Secretary Leonor Briones said.

DepEd TV Teacher-broadcasters Levin Pabriaga and Marilyn Landicho Escoto will represent the Philippines in the prestigious Asian Academy Creative Awards after winning the National Award for Best Pre-school Program and Best Children’s Program categories, respectively, last September 30, 2021. The two will attend the AAA Awards Night in Singapore on December 2-3.

Levin hosts the Kindergarten program while Marilyn teaches Grade 2 Filipino for DepEd TV, the agency’s television-based instruction broadcast in national and regional partner stations.

Meanwhile, the recently concluded ETUlay Awards recognized teacher-tutors for their extraordinary work and dedication to the DepEd’s ETUlay tutorial series for learning continuity.

Chosen through a comprehensive process of voting and interviews, Maria May N. Sevilla of Navotas City won the Outstanding English Tutor Award while Pamela Amor R. Villanueva of Caloocan City bagged the Outstanding Filipino Tutor Award.

The Outstanding AP Tutor Award and Outstanding Science Tutor Award were given to Kristine G. Ribada of Olongapo and Antonio Maypa, respectively. Prince Andrew C. Mangahas, meanwhile, received the Outstanding Math Tutor Award, while Erza Ulep bagged both the Outstanding Tutor Award for EPP/TLE and Wellness.

The Outstanding MAPEH Tutor Award went to Jeodhel Sestoso of Navotas (Music), Eujan Ruflyn Alice Abracia of SDO Tapat (Arts), Bernard Ramir Arcabos of SDO Manila for PE 3, and Jonathan Almirante of Bacoor City (Health).

The Outstanding ESP Tutor and Outstanding SHS Tutor were awarded to Joy Salazar and Ma. Alma Shiela Manabat of Antipolo, respectively. Meanwhile, Muntinlupa City’s Noerine V. Polo won the Outstanding ALS Tutor Award.

Levin earned her spot as the Outstanding Storyteller, while John Labadan of Las Piñas received the Outstanding SPED Tutor Award. Lastly, Rjay C. Calaguas of Angeles City grabbed the Outstanding MTB-MLE Tutor award.

The winners received DepEd computerization packages consisting of one laptop and cellphone for the tutor and 10 laptop units for their school.