CALL it the wrath of a grand slam winner.

19 July 2023

CALL it the wrath of a grand slam winner.

TNT returned to the champion’s podium of the PBA 3×3 First Conference Season 3 on Tuesday, beating upset-concious Pioneer Elastoseal in the Leg 3 final, 17-13, at the Ayala Mall, Manila Bay.

Left out in the playoffs of Leg 2 a week ago, the Triple Giga came back with a vengeance as the quartet of Almond Vosotros, Lervin Flores, Samboy De Leon, and Gryann Mendoza swept their way to the top and claim the P100,000 champion’s purse.

Vosotros struggled against the Katibays by shooting 4-of-10 from the floor for six points, but Flores, De Leon, and Mendoza took care of the rest to give the telecommunication franchise its first leg crown this season after completing a grand slam last year.

Wilson Baltazar also had six points to show the way for Pioneer, which made the finals for the first time since the opening leg of Season 2 Third Conference.

TNT earlier denied the bid of Barangay Ginebra to win a historic third straight leg championship by ousting the Kings in the quarterfinals, 21-19.

Vosotros then erupted for 12 points as the Triple Giga got the San Miguel Beermen out of their way, 20-19, to reach the finals.

Pioneer won P50,000 for the runner-up finish.

The Katibays edged out the Meralco Bolts in the quarterfinals, 21-19, and stunned Cavitex in the semis, 19-17, to set up the title showdown against the Triple Giga.

Meanwhile, the Braves won the battle for third place for the third straight time behind a 20-19 victory over San Miguel.

It was a win worth another P30,000 for Cavitex.

The scores

For 3rd Place

Cavitex (20) – Napoles 10, Ighalo 7, Gonzaga 3, Fajardo 0.
San Miguel (19) – Bono 9, Saldua 6, Apacible 3, Lee 1.


TNT (17) – Vosotros 6, Flores 4, De Leon 4, Mendoza 3.
Pioneer (13) – Baltazar 6, Morido 4, Abrigo 3, Mocon 0.