Team Dasma outclasses the erstwhile-unbeaten Go for Gold Air Force, 19-25, 26-24, 25-18, 25-17, to rule Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) Champions League on Saturday night at the Aquamarine Recreational Center in Lipa City, Batangas.

/ 5 December 2021

The Monarchs overcame a slow start to complete its perfect title run and earned their right to represent the Philippines in the 2022 Asian Men’s Club Volleyball Championship in Urmia, Iran.

Mark Calado delivered the big hits for Dasmariñas with 18 kills, gaining the tournament MVP and First Outside Hitter plums as the squad swept five of its games from a 3-0 finish in Pool B followed by a five-set conquest over VNS in the semifinal on Friday. 

Sobra kaming masaya na nagchampion kami tapos against mostly national team players and coaches. Proud kami na naging successful kami sa tournament na ito at yun naman talaga ang goal namin. With all humility, we still congratulate Go For Gold,” Dasmariñas coach Norman Miguel said.

It was a total team effort for the Monarchs as they proved to be a team to be reckoned with despite facing the Aguillas who have eight Philippine men’s volleyball team members as Ronniel Rosales, Arnold Bautista, and Jayvee Sumagaysay also stepped up when it mattered most.

The Dasmarinas Cavite-based club also relied on their rock-solid defense led by Rosales, providing eight of the team’s 16 blocks and finishing with 13 points.

Madz Gampong backstopped Calado with 12 points, while Arnold Bautista delivered all-around numbers of 11 points, 16 receptions, and seven digs.

Dasmariñas hacked an 18-11 lead capped by Cian Silang ace in the fourth canto but the Aguilas then never recovered. 

John Vic de Guzman, team captain of the national team that won silver at the 2019 Southeast Asian Games, paced the Air Force with 22 points, while Mark Alfafara ended with 15 points, including 2 blocks and 8 receptions.

Other players who bagged individual awards include Air Force’s Alfafara (Second Best Outside Hitter), De Guzman (Best Opposite Hitter), and Ricky Marcos (Best Libero), Dasmarinas’ Silang (Best Setter) and Jayvee Sumagaysay (First Best Middle Blocker), and VNS Manileño Spikers’ Rwenzmel Taguibolos (Second Best Middle Blocker).