/ 6 August 2021

THE DEPARTMENT of Science and Technology in Region 9 announced that nine students from Zamboanga Peninsula were qualified for the 2020-2021 Junior Level Science Scholarship.

The program is intended for regular third-year college students who are enrolled in priority Science and Technology courses.

The nine scholars are Melanie Rose Tubil Cabual, Rizafel Joy Trinidad Cuenca, Kyra Maturan Helar, Fatima Raiza Bacareza Hussin, Ceasar Eugene Vincent Anastacio Jamanulla, Mattew Egua Luna, Adam Bayot Mapa II, Mat Christopher Perigo Pasgala and Ermeliza Antipuesto Ortiz.

They were chosen from 123 applicants from the region. A total of 785 qualified applicants nationwide were screened for the scholarship program.

DOST-9 said the students will enjoy two to three years of scholarship benefits including tuition subsidy, monthly stipend, and book allowance, among others.

The scholarship grant will take effect in the first semester of Academic Year 2020-2021, which means scholars will receive the financial assistance for the previous months retroactively.

The department did not hold the yearly qualifying examination for the program this year. Instead, applicants were asked to submit requirements including grades for the first two years of college.

“The suspension of the face-to-face examination for the JLSS was due to the risks of the prevailing coronavirus pandemic, which led to the use of data analytics to finally identify the deserving students for the scholarship grant,” the DOST said.