/ 16 September 2020

THE Commission on Higher Education has appointed new members of the technical panel for political science composed of experts from the academe, government, and industry.

Heading the panel is Dr. Francisco Magno, an Associate Professor of the Political Science Department and Director of the Social Development Research Center of De La Salle University.  He is a recipient of the Outstanding Young Scientist Award from the National Academy of Science and Technology and has served as President of the Local Governance Training and Research Institute Philippines Network (2016-2018) and Philippine Political Science Association (2015-2017).

Dr. Clarita Carlos, a professor of political science at the University of the Philippines, Diliman, represents the academe. She served as president of the National Defense College of the Philippines.

Meanwhile, Dr. Rosalie Arcala Hall, professor of political science at the University of the Philippines-Visayas, is an incumbent member of the Technical Panel. She has been a visiting researcher at Loyola University Chicago, Meiji University, University of Innsbruck, Indonesia Center for Strategic and International Students and East West Center Washington, D.C.

Representing industry is Dr. Emmanuel C. Lallana.  He is the Chief Executive of Ideacorp, a non-profit organization focused on using information and communications technology in governance, education, business and for the economy.  He is also the current Digital Development Advisor of UN/ESCAP Asia Pacific Training Center for Information and Communication Technology for Development in Incheon, Korea.

Dr. Fermin Adriano serves as Senior Advisor of the Conflict, Security and Development Team of the World Bank-Manila and has been instrumental in providing technical guidance in the socio-economic development of Mindanao over the past decade.  He has served the government as policy adviser to the Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process.

Representing the government in the Technical Panel is Atty. Maria Anthonette C. Velasco-Allones, the current Chief Operating Officer of the Tourism Promotions Board Philippines. Velasco is a recipient of the “The Outstanding Young Men” Award for government service – public administration/human resource development.

The seventh member of the technical panel is Ambassador Carlos Sorreta, a lawyer and career diplomat with 30 years of experience in Philippine Foreign Service. Sorreta served as Director-General of the Foreign Service Institution and Assistant Secretary for American Affairs as well as Special Assistant to the President, Secretaries of Foreign Affairs and Undersecretary for Policy. He is currently Philippine Ambassador to Russia.

“I would like to thank the new members of the Technical Panel on Political Science for agreeing to help the CHED as we redefine and reengineer the higher education sector particularly the supply and demand of human resources from the field of political science. The synergy between experts from academe, industry and government will help ensure that the Commission gets expert advice, and more importantly help shape and develop an improved political science degree in the country,” CHEd Chairman Prospero De Vera III said.