/ 8 August 2021

FOUR teachers have been included as part of the 2021 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos.

The four are Lou Sabrina S. Ongkiko of Culiat Elementary School in Quezon City; Jason B. Albaro of  Muntinlupa National High School; Maria Minerva P. Calimag, M.D., M.Sc., Ph. D., Professor 5, College of Medicine, University of Santo Tomas; and Iris Thiele Isip-Tan, M.D., M.Sc. , Professor 10, College of Medicine, University of the Philippines Manila.

A total of 10 personalities — four teachers, three soldiers, and three police officers — make up the year’s awardees, who were introduced to the public during a virtual press conference held on August 6, 2021.

The honor is given as a career-service award for Filipino exemplars in the field of academe, military, and police sectors.

Each awardee will receive  a cash prize of P1 million, net of tax, a golden medallion, and ‘The Flame’ trophy during the conferment ceremonies set September 2 as part of Metrobank’s 59th anniversary celebration.

Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos exemplify the true meaning of ‘Beyond Excellence’,  whose contributions speak of service beyond one’s self — but also to their sectors and in the larger community, inspiring their peers.

Likewise, they are honored for their service and community involvements which helped shape better communities and created a lasting positive impact upon the people.