/ 29 November 2020

THE NUEVA Ecija University of Science and Technology was one of the recipients of the Freedom of Information Award 2020.

NEUST received the award virtually on Wednesday along with the University of the Philippines and the Polytechnic University of the Philippines.

Hundreds of state universities and colleges in the country were nominated for the award but only three were honored for their excellent performance in implementing FOI.

“Out of the hundred SUCs nominated in the 2020 FOI awards, there were only three universities that were acknowledged and given special recognition. These three universities were awarded as FOI Champions,” NEUST said on Facebook.

“The basis in the selection was the excellent performance in the implementation of the Freedom of Information, being part of the University’s daily operation in terms of the clientele’s request for information; consistency of early compliance relative to the PBB requirements; early submission of the other requirements asked by the FOI management office; and constant coordination with the FOI Management Office for some queries and update on FOI matters,” it added.

NEUST credited Dr. Sarah Alvarez, director of the planning and development office; Dr. Arceli Millan, head of the University Publication and Media Affairs Office and Engr. Christopher Ladignon, head of the University Record Office for the successful FOI implementation in the university.