/ 17 March 2021

THE COMMISSION on Higher Education has given two MIMAROPA colleges institutional recognition and Certificates of Program Compliance that will enable them to implement the programs under the Universal Access to Quality Tertiary Education Act of 2017 or Republic Act 10931.

Prospero E. De Vera III, CHED chief and Unified Student Financial Assistance System for Tertiary Education Board chairman, awarded the Baco Community College and City College of Calapan in Mindoro Oriental with trophies and certificates.

Local universities and colleges must have institutional recognition and COPC to qualify for Free Higher Education and Tertiary Education Subsidy programs, including the Student Loan Program for tertiary education.

Institutional recognition assures that the LUC has complied with systems and procedures, such as selection of president, having permanent faculty, school facilities,among others. The COPC, meanwhile, is given only when degree programs being offered by SUCs/LUCs are fully compliant with the policies, standards, and guidelines of CHED.

“Dahil sa pinirmahang batas (RA 10931) ni Pangulong Duterte, libre na ang tuition at miscellaneous fees ng 1.3 milyong kabataang Filipino na nag-aaral sa 112 SUCs at 123 LUCS; 400,000 ang may Tertiary Education Subsidy sa lagpas 1,000 na public at private universities; at 400,000 ang tumatanggap ng Tulong Dunong,” De Vera said.