The Bleachers


De La Salle University (DLSU) defeated long-time rival and defending champion Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU), 22-25, 25-23, 25-18, 25-20, to start its UAAP Season 84 women’s volleyball tournament at the SM Mall of Asia Arena on Thursday.

/ 6 May 2022

The Blue Eagles were in control of the early game as they secured a first set advantage, 25-22, and with the dominance of Faith Nisperos who carried the team to a 21-18 advantage in the second frame.

But it seemed that the Katipunan side got a bit too relaxed as the Taft squad made a 7-2 run thanks to Jyne Soreño, Jolina dela Cruz, and Alleiah Malaluan to tie the set score at 1-1.

The green and white squad then became ceaseless as they easily conquered the third set, and with an 18-all deadlock at the fourth, La Salle ensured that Ateneo would not be able to score as Leiah Malaluan scored for a match point, before Nisperos handed the win with a spike off the court. 

Soreño paced the Lady Spikers with 17 points off 13 attacks, three blocks, and one ace.

Malaluan chipped 15 markers, Thea Gagate had 11 points, Fifi Sharma had 10, while dela Cruz also added nine markers for the win.

Nisperos led the Ateneo with 24 points built by 19 attacks, 3 aces, and 2 blocks, Lyann De Guzman had 11 points, while Vanie Gandler chipped in nine points, 11 excellent digs, and four excellent receptions, and Dani Ravena had 23 excellent digs and 11 excellent receptions.

La Salle will try for a back-to-back win as they face Adamson at 12:00 p.m. on Saturday, while Ateneo will play National University at 10:00 a.m. on the same day.