Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) declared the 12-man Gilas Pilipinas lineup for 2021 FIBA Asia Cup Qualifiers in Bahrain with Kobe Paras heading the team.

/ 27 November 2020

“I’m just happy to get another chance to create memories with teammates. (We’re going through) trying times in the country. Ang daming nangyayari. Hopefully, as a team we can bring hope to people,” shared by Paras as posted by SBP on the same time that the 12-man list was also released.

Completing the roster are the Ateneo stars Dwight Ramos, Isaac Go, twins Matt and Mike Nieto, Dave Ildefonso, and Will Navarro. 

Also included in the squad are the trifecta of the UP Fighting Maroons Kobe Paras, and brothers Juan and Javi Gomez de Liano. 

UE Red Warrior Rey Suerte and Red Lions Kemark Cariño were also able to make it to the final 12-man lineup.

Cut from the squad were NCAA Season 95 MVP Calvin Oftana, Jaydee Tungcab, and Allyn Bulanadi, who was already incapacitated to play due to a dislocated right shoulder during the training camp.

Nieto and Suerte are special Gilas draftees, while Dave Ildefonso and Kemark Carino will make their first appearance for the senior men’s team after a stint performing in their respective collegiate tournaments.

Head coach Jong Uichico and Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) program director Tab Baldwin who is also the head coach of San Beda made the picks.

The all cadets roster currently sits at second place in Group A and will try to defend the current 1-0 win-loss record after its 100-70 victory over Indonesia in Jakarta last February 23.

Their first assignment would be against Thailand set to happen today at 9 pm Manila time which will be live on One Sports.