/ 23 March 2023

THE SENATE has adopted a resolution commending winners of the Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations or TAYO Awards for 2022 for their outstanding contributions to the promotion of the welfare of the youth and in nation building.

Senator Juan Edgardo Angara sponsored Senate Resolution 548 recognizing TAYO Awards for giving due recognition to youth organizations.

The awardees were lauded for their significant contributions in the fields of culture, arts and heritage; education and technology; environment, disaster risk reduction, and climate change adaptation; health, well-being and human development; and livelihood and entrepreneurship.

Started in 2002 by former Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, the search for the awardees of the initial TAYO Awards was conducted by the National Youth Commission under then chairperson Mabel Mamba and former Senator Paolo Benigno Aquino, who was commissioner of the NYC.

“Even in their young age, our youth can make an outsized contribution to the nation. There is no minimum age requirement to being a good citizen,” said Angara, chairman of the Senate Committee on Youth.

In the past 20 years, 380 youth organizations have received the TAYO Awards. The TAYO Network has over 5,000 organizations across the country.

For the 20th TAYO Awards, selected as winners are the Albay Young Farmers Organization; The BAKA; Iligan Safe Space Leaders’ Council; Open Arms Organization; PINTAKASI; Project TALA Organization; Sangguniang Kabataan ng Barangay Talomo River; Shafaat Agriculture Cooperative for Mushroom for Change project; and Youth Empowering Youth Initiative, Inc.

Each of the winners of the TAYO Awards will receive a seed grant of P50,000 to fund their ongoing projects or start new ones and a trophy from renowned sculptor Toym De Leon Imao.