National Basketball League (NBL) Pilipinas decided to resume court action straight to the finals with La Union and Pampanga vying for the Black Arrow Express-President’s Cup title in the league’s bubble on October 22.

/ 19 October 2020

The bubble approved by the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) and Games and Amusements Board (GAB) will take place at the Bren Z. Guiao Convention Center in San Fernando City, Pampanga.

NBL will be among the three pro leagues to resume games this October together with Chooks-to-go Pilipinas 3×3 and Philippine Football League.

The disruption caused by the Covid-19 pandemic led to the postponement of the NBL playoffs last March.

Among the 14 regular teams, only La Union and Pampanga have decided to continue their campaign on the NBL season 3 in the Pampanga bubble.

This has led the league to go straight with the finals instead of continuing the playoffs.

Before the halting of the season, La Union tied with Pampanga with 5-1 win-loss standing in the Group B boards in phase 1 of the playoffs. However, La Union Paower gained the top spot after beating Pampanga Delta, 95-89 in a double-overtime match last January 11.

Mitchell Maynes is set to banner the Paower in its debut season to win their best-of-five series match.

Pampanga Delta will be targeting the crown as well from coming off on a second-place finish in the last NBL season where they were defeated by Taguig Generals in their finals match.

Following the strict implementation of health protocols, teams will undergo RT-PCR testing before entering the bubble.

According to recent reports, the La Union squad was swabbed and resulted in negative and will be quarantined prior to their entry to the bubble.