/ 6 February 2022

THE SENATE has approved 30 bills that seek to strengthen the state universities and colleges and capacitate the Commission on Higher Education to effectively steer the higher education system with the establishment of provincial offices.

Senator Joel Villanueva thanked the Senate leadership and his colleagues for the swift passage of the bills.

“We believe that the steps taken by the Senate committee and this chamber will open a bright future for each and every one of the 3.66 million students in higher education,” Villanueva said.

The bills approved by the Senate include those that seek the establishment of campuses of the Polytechnic University of the Philippines in North Caloocan City; Leyte, Leyte; and Sta. Rosa, Laguna and a measure declaring the Batangas State University as the national engineering university and strengthening Tarlac State University.

Senators also approved measures seeking to establish campuses of the University of Eastern Philippines in the municipalities of Allen, Victoria, and Lavezares in Northern Samar; and campuses of the Cebu Technological University in the City of Toledo, and in the municipality of Asturias.

One of the bills aim to strengthen CHED by establishing provincial offices of the agency in Zamboanga Sibugay; Vigan City, Ilocos Sur; Misamis Occidental; Ilocos Nortel; Davao Oriental; Sorsogon; Bohol; Northern Samar; Bataan: Kalinga, Mt. Province; and in San Jose, Occidental Mindoro.