/ 27 October 2021

SEVEN alumni of the University of the Philippines will receive the Glory Awards, the College of Mass Communication Alumni Association said.

The awardees who were selected by a distinguished jury of peers are Maria Luz Balmaceda (corporate communications), Maria Kristina Conti (social advocacy), Abner Mercado (broadcast journalism), Catherine Garcia-Molina (film), Felix “Nonon” Padilla (performing arts), Rowena Carranza-Paraan (social advocacy), and Marianne Dayrit Sison (mass communication education).

The Glory trophy, sculpted by emeritus professor Gigi Javier Alfonso, will be handed to the recipients in celebration of their outstanding work and impact on the communities where they work.

This year’s jury panel includes broadcast journalist Ces Drilon, development communications expert Monina Movido-Escalada, former deputy press secretary Danilo Gozo, investigative journalist Malou Mangahas, and writer-director-actor Bibeth Orteza.

The Glory has two permanent jurors: UP CMC Dean and cinema professor Arminda Santiago and former ANC and CNN Philippines news director Jing Magsaysay, who represents the family of Gloria Feliciano, the program’s founding dean 56 years ago.

Dean Feliciano inspired the alumni association to launch the annual Glory Awards in 2017 in honor of her legacy of excellence and service to the mass communications field.