/ 7 June 2023

PROFESSORS of the De La Salle University bagged awards from the National Academy of Science and Technology this year.

Acd. Prof. Elmer Dadios of the Department of Manufacturing Engineering and Management was named the NAST Academician.

The award is given to resident Filipino scientists elected as academicians who have made exemplary contributions to science and technology.

Meanwhile, Dr. John Jamir Benzon Aruta of the Department of Psychology, Dr. Ronnie Concepcion II of the Department of Manufacturing Engineering and Management, and Dr. Ourlad Alzeus Tantengco of the Department of Biology were bestowed the Outstanding Young Scientist Award.

The OYS award is given to young Filipino scientists (must not be 41 years old within January to December in the year of the awarding) who have made significant contributions to science and technology.

Also, Dr. Ann Franchesca Laguna of the Department of Computer Technology and Dr. Ivan Henderson Gue of the Department of Mechanical Engineering received the NAST Talent Search for Young Scientists.

Laguna ranked third place while Gue received the special citation.

The award aims to recognize young scientists and encourage them to further pursue their careers in science.

Likewise, Dr. Melissa Garabiles of the Department of Psychology was named the NAST Outstanding Scientific Paper awardee.

The NAST aims to recognize outstanding achievements in science and technology as well as provide meaningful incentives to those engaged in scientific and technological research.